Stress Induced Writer’s Block

I am not used to being wordless. Very few things in life leave me speechless, very few things keep me from touching pen to paper, but lately it seems an insurmountable chore to put anything out at all. The absolute last thing I want to do is write another blog about writer’s block, but I guess here I am.

I have been working on some poems, but nothing is done; nothing is coming out the way I wanted to. I checked my blog today and realized I should have worked on it yesterday, but alas here we are with no words.

I am believe many factors contributed to this. First of all, I have been working a lot, which does not leave much time for the creative thought process. The week after spring break found us with over 50 cars on our lot, which fits about 35 on a good day. All of these cars had to be organized and cleaned and moved about the parking lot, and all week boss-Mark and I were playing a life-size game of Tetris. Sometimes, when I am cleaning out a car, my mind drifts to other things like topics that I can write about. Unfortunately, because I was so tired and burnt out from the events of the week, I found myself only thinking about going home and watching reruns of Modern Family.

Another factor is that I have been deeply tired. This may be due to the work stress, or maybe my body is just finding it needs a little more time to rest. It is not that I feel sick in any way, but I have been sleeping 10 hours at a time, which is very rare for me. The other night I fell asleep at 5:30 p.m. on the couch and woke up at 6:00 a.m., as though no time had passed at all.

Finally, I haven’t been on my socials as much since I have either been sleeping or working. It is the internet that often gives me my ideas for poems and stories and blogs, but I have been avoiding such stressors in pursuit of relaxation since I was so stressed this week. Now, I find myself on this rainy Saturday morning very sad that I have nothing to pen. Now is the perfect time to write my blog, and yet my ideas remain dull and stale. Wednesday is poetry night, and I wanted to have a new piece finished by then, but I do not feel like that will happen either. Maybe I am just down on myself at the moment, and need to find a way to de-stress and relax so that I can get my groove back with it comes to writing.

So, I apologize for this boring blog. I force myself to write twice a week at least because if I don’t have a schedule I will spin off into outer space. But then I feel disappointed when my content is not up to my standards. Oh well, I hope you still love me anyway. Happy saturday!

Leave a comment