Eclipsed

"Hey, Brig?"
"What up, brain?"
"You haven't blogged in a week."
"Well, crap."

In all honesty, I haven’t had much to say. The week went by in a flurry of chaos because work has been pure bedlam, with dozens of cars coming back daily after spring break. Yesterday was a little crazy because of the eclipse, and I was warned as a Buffalonian to prepare for traffic insanity. We are in the path of totality, and a million people were expected to pull up into Niagara Falls, which is our neighbor city to the north.

I went to work yesterday morning and planned on going to my dad’s for the eclipse, but I was so tired I could not get off my couch to go socialize. Instead, I waited until about 5 minutes before totality and went outside. I sat on my front steps and tried out my glasses, but they were useless given the cloud coverage. In the most Buffalo move ever, Mother Nature decided to give us all of the clouds right until AFTER the eclipse. The sun was out and shining and beautiful yesterday evening, but at 3:15 I was staring at the sky and unable to even determine where the sun was within it. At 3:18, it began to get dark, very fast. I noticed the street lights come on.

This was a very interesting fact to me. I often wondered as a small child whether or not street lights were on a sensor or a timer. It is one of those things I never bothered to find out the answer to, even though Google is right at my fingertips. Instead, I would just wonder when I would see a light pop on while I was driving and think to myself that someday I will figure it out. Yesterday is the day that I figured it out! The lights are on sensors!  I was so pleased.

It was very cool to see the sun return so quickly, and of course very cool to see the lights turn off again, but I did not get to see the actual eclipse due to the clouds. I remember when I was young, and we had an eclipse. We made special glasses in science class and learned about the moon and the sun. Yesterday, kids had off from school, which would have been amazing to me back in the day. It was like a miniature holiday in the middle of a Monday, and I think it was pretty cool overall.

Life returned to normal, of course, and I went to work this morning to help Boss-Mark deal with the influx of cars. It is still utter madness on our parking lot, but it is better than it was. Then I came home and had lunch, and that brings me to the writing of this blog. I can’t believe I managed to go a week without having anything to write about, but as I mentioned in my Patreon, recently I have felt a little bit of writer’s block…

Perhaps it is the moon! Perhaps the moon has just moved in front of my sun for a moment, and soon I will be back to shining as brightly as I did before. Perhaps it is even deeper into the astrology of things, and it is all due to the fact that mercury is in the microwave again. I do not know.

Either way, I will push myself to write more. I will try to jot down ideas for blogs this week so that I do not have such a long hiatus. I also need to come up with something for Patreon tomorrow, which may or may not be a difficult chore. I hope you all enjoyed your eclipse, and I wish you all a happy Tuesday!

One thought on “Eclipsed

  1. Love this! Was in Greenville, TX to watch the eclipse and the clouds parted right at the sun, right during the eclipse, and was total cover any other part of the day, was getting nervous but was able to get pics I will be posting on my blog as soon as I can. (Might be a few days)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment