More Writing, Less Bulls**t

As the longtime reader knows, my New Year’s resolution is, as always, to not eat a phone book. I’ve been able to keep this resolution for over a decade now, and it has just gotten easier each year- I mean where would I even find a phone book these days? Since this is such a easy goal to attain, I have decided to add to my resolution list this year. This year, in 2024, there will be more writing, and less bullshit.

2023 was a comedy of errors. If there was an area of my life that could go awry some way, it did. Some things righted themselves, and some things did not; some things arrived and some things disappeared, and there was overall more misery than joy. Unacceptable! On top of all that, I wrestled on and off with writer’s block for the better part of the year. I will have none of this nonsense in 2024!

Main focuses for the year include publication. I have a chapbook that is ready to go, a mini-chap that has been waiting for its day in the sun, and a novel that is with an editor currently, with which I am ready to take the next step. I intend to keep up the blog as regularly as possible, as well as my Patreon, and I will continue to go to open mics to share my work. But, I would really love some publication this year- I think I had one poem out last year. I mean that’s fine, because I didn’t put in any effort whatsoever to make anything happen, but I am hoping that this year is different. So, more writing!

And less bullshit! Less stupid crap getting in my way and blocking me from achieving my goals. I’m not 100% sure how I can stop that constant onslaught, but I will try and figure out a way! I will not stand by and let my life get more out of control than it already is. I am not in the mood, and I will not tolerate it in this coming year. So, less bullshit!

Now, I am notoriously bad at keeping my New Year’s resolutions, hence the phone book one, but I am going to try really hard to keep this up. It is important to me for my healing and growth to look at the world from a different perspective. And it is important to me to get my words out of me- that is probably the goal which is dearest to my heart.

So I wish you and yours a happy 2024, and may we all achieve what we set out to do!
(Of course, I would like to know that I don’t truly believe this is the New Year. The New Year is actually the Spring Equinox. The Gregorian calendar was made in 1582 by a Pope.  This is just the dead of winter.)

Leave a comment