Roadtrippin’

Quick housekeeping: I know that I typically updated Tuesdays and Thursdays, but in case you have not noticed things have been a little crazy, life-wise, since mom passed. As such, blog updates will come and go for the time being. If you want something regular each week, may I suggest subscribing to my Patreon? Anyhoo…

The first time I went on a road trip I was about 8 years old and we were traveling to Detroit to visit my grandmother’s cousin Margaret. It was a wonderful time, and was also my first experience with taking a vacation of any sort. I have traveled to many other places since, but I remember that first road trip well, from the Slim Jims my dad bought at the store for snacking to the underwater tunnel we drove through.

One time, somewhere in my twenties, my friend Molly picked me up in the middle of the night and we drove to New York City to buy a t-shirt…true story. That was a great road trip as well. I had other good ones with my family, and other good ones with friends, and a fantastic one last year with Sahar and Chelsea. I love a good road trip.

But today? Oh, today! Today I will embark on my first solo adventure. I am driving myself from Buffalo to Cleveland, so I can visit Sahar before her birthday. It is a straight shot on the 90 from here to there, and she only lives a few miles away from the exit, so the drive is an easy one- still, I am excited. I will drive through three states, all along Lake Erie- my favorite of all the lakes. I will get to listen to my music the whole way, without sharing the radio with anyone, and I can stop to pee at any exit I please. There is a lovely little freedom in the few hours it will take me to travel.

We are making plans for our weekend, and so far, it sounds like it will be a blast. I am hopeful I will have stories to tell when I return- I know I will, but this writer’s block-ish situation is really getting under my skin. But then, perhaps I just need a few days away to recharge. So, I shall enjoy my little vacation, and bid you all a lovely weekend. Happy Thursday!

Leave a comment