A Little Spring Cleaning

Some short housekeeping.

How is a human being supposed to deal with their mental health during a chronic illness flare up? This is a question I am pondering today, as I am 2 days without psych medication. This is not due to a med error, but instead due to the fact that I haven’t been able to keep anything down for two days. Fortunately, my stomach is calm this morning and I was able to take my medication last night, however I am still dealing with some side effects of not having taken it the past couple of days. On top of that, I am trying to rest my body because it has been rebelling on me since Friday

So while my body needs to rest, my brain desires stimulation so that it does not wander off into depressing territories. I was recently bemoaning the fact that television doesn’t really do it for me anymore. I used to be able to zone out on a good show, but that rarely happens for longer than half an hour now. I need to actually be doing something in order to feel mentally at ease, but my body will not let me get off this couch.

So, instead, I am embracing the fact that my writer’s block seems to be dissolving along with Mercury in retrograde, just like I predicted it would, and I will pen this blog. I have already updated my Patreon for the week, with a new poem that I managed to pluck out of myself in the middle of the night.

There is not much more to share at the moment. It is Wednesday, but it is an off night for poetry open mic. Next week, a poet I enjoy is having a book launch, so that should be pretty cool. My only other news is that I am trying to figure out what my next batch of submissions will be. And of course, I will probably reread my novella for the 400th time. I tend to do that a lot lately. Oh well, happy Wednesday!

Leave a comment